Ladies First: Female Heads of State

of 1410Photo
  • Laura Chinchilla
  • Pratibha Patil
  • Gloria Macapgal-Arroyo
  • Chandrika Kumaratunga
  • Corazon Aquino
  • Violeta Chamorro
  • Janet Jagan
  • Catherine Samba-Panza — Central African Republic
  • Portia Simpson-Miller
  • Joyce Banda
  •  Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
  • Park Geun-Hye
  • Yingluck Shinawatra
  • Dilma Rousseff

Gloria Macapgal-Arroyo — Philippines

Gloria Macapgal-Arroyo served not only as president of the Philippines from 2001 to 2010, but also vice president from 1998 to 2001. Before entering politics, Arroyo worked as a professor of economics.

(Photo: Pool photo(Kyodo) /Landov)

More Photo Galleries

Watch on
Powered By ZergNet