Equality for All: Eight Foreign Women’s Equality Activists to Know

of 94Photo
  • Egypt: Nawal el-Saadawi
  • New Zealand: Kate Sheppard
  • Liberia: Leymah Gbowee
  • Iran: Shirin Ebadi
  • Puerto Rico: Luisa Capetillo
  • Egypt: Doria Shafik
  • Pakistan: Malala Yousafzai
  • Guinea: Rainatou Sow
  • Working for Women's Rights

Liberia: Leymah Gbowee

Born in 1972 in Liberia, Leymah Gbowee is a peace activist who, with her compatriot President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, won the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize for her “non-violent struggle for the safety of women.” She also spearheaded a women’s peace movement that facilitated the end of the country's Second Civil War in 2003 and the subsequent free election that Sirleaf won.

(Photo: Kyodo /Landov)

More Photo Galleries

Videos You May Like

Watch on BET.com
Powered By ZergNet