Freddie Gibbs and Madlib Drop Surprise EP

The Midwest wordsmith and West Coast producer come together for Thuggin.

Posted: 11/21/2011 03:40 PM EST
Filed Under Freddie Gibbs

(Photo: Courtesy

Freddie Gibbs and Madlib may not make the most obvious tag team, but the Ohio gangsta and the prolific West Coast beatsmith have developed an unlikely working relationship, announcing Friday that they have produced a joint EP together.

Gibbs was Madlib's surprise guest at a concert in San Francisco, where the two performed tracks from the project titled Thuggin'. A limited-edition vinyl press of the record was available for sale at the show, and the EP is scheduled to be released to the masses today (11/21).

"#MADGIBBS Monday," Gibbs tweeted along with a photo of him and the revered producer.

The Thuggin' tracklist is below. Last month, Gibbs released his latest mixtape, Cold Day in Hell.

1. Thuggin
2. Thuggin (Instrumental)
3. Riot Call
4. Deep
5. Deep (Instrumental)
6. Cold on the BLVD