Officers Sentenced in Katrina Killings Case

Kenneth Bowen, Robert Gisevius, Anthony Villavaso and Robert Faulcon were convicted of firearms charges that carry mandatory minimum sentences.

Posted: 04/04/2012 03:30 PM EDT
Eric Holder, New Orleans Police Department, officers charged in shooting, Katrina

Five former New Orleans police officers have been sentenced to prison terms ranging from six to 65 years years for their roles in the deadly shootings of unarmed residents on a bridge after Hurricane Katrina.

A federal jury convicted the officers in August of civil rights violations in the shootings on the Danziger Bridge and a cover-up.

Police shot six people, killing two, less than a week after the storm's landfall on Aug. 29, 2005. To make the shootings appear justified, officers conspired to plant a gun, fabricate witnesses and falsify reports.

The case became the centerpiece of the Justice Department's push to clean up the troubled New Orleans Police Department

U.S. District Kurt Engelhardt heard hours of testimony Wednesday from prosecutors, defense attorneys, relatives of shooting victims and the officers before sentencing.


BET National News - Keep up to date with breaking news stories from around the nation, including headlines from the hip hop and entertainment world.

(Photo: AP / The Times-Picayune, Michael DeMocker)

Videos You May Like