HBCU Presidents on the Move

of 114Photo
  • Sidney A. Ribeau, Howard University
  • Tony Atwater, Norfolk State
  • George Cooper, South Carolina State
  • James Ammons, Florida A&M University
  • Dorothy Cowser Yancy, Shaw University
  • Irma McClaurin, Shaw University
  • Julianne Malveaux, Bennett College
  • David Wilson, Morgan State University
  • Henry Lewis III, Florida Memorial University
  • Joseph Silver, Alabama State
  • HBCU Presidents

George Cooper, South Carolina State

George Cooper had a tumultuous tenure at South Carolina State University from 2008 to 2012. It was reported that he constantly clashed with staff and ignored declining enrollment rates. He was fired in 2010, but was reinstated that same year. Cooper finally stepped down in 2012, and Thomas J. Elzey became president in 2013.

(Photo: WikiCommons)

More Photo Galleries

Watch on BET.com
Powered By ZergNet