HBCU Presidents on the Move

of 115Photo
  • Tony Atwater, Norfolk State
  • George Cooper, South Carolina State
  • James Ammons, Florida A&M University
  • Dorothy Cowser Yancy, Shaw University
  • Irma McClaurin, Shaw University
  • Julianne Malveaux, Bennett College
  • David Wilson, Morgan State University
  • Henry Lewis III, Florida Memorial University
  • Joseph Silver, Alabama State
  • HBCU Presidents
  • Sidney A. Ribeau, Howard University

James Ammons, Florida A&M University

Following the hazing death of FAMU marching band member Robert Champion, James Ammons resigned from his position as president of FAMU in 2012. He continued his tenure as a professor, and provost Larry Robinson serves as interim president as the university continues the search for a president.

(Phil Coale/AP Photo)

More Photo Galleries

Watch on BET.com
Powered By ZergNet