Is Facebook Trying to Save Face?

Published February 23, 2009

After a stinging backlash from its members, Facebook had to back down and go back to its old privacy policy.

When the company recently amended its policy, users were concerned that the social network could legally own the content they shared among friends on the Web site.  The company adamantly denied that claim.

In fact, if you log on to the social network today, you'll see a note about it: "Over the past few days, we have received a lot of feedback about the new terms we posted two weeks ago.  Because of this response, we have decided to return to our previous Terms of Use while we resolve the issues that people have raised.  For more information, visit the Facebook Blog."

The company’s original private policy agreement stated that if you close your account, Facebook could not claim rights to content you previously uploaded to the site.  But it was when the company decided to take that line out of it privacy policy that the backlash jumped off.  They have since put that line back in.

So, what that means for you is that if you upload content on Facebook and later decide that you don't want it there anymore, you can get it back.  It is not the property of Facebook to be kept there for all of eternity. 

Facebook's Chief Privacy Officer Chris Kelly told CNN that the company hadn't tried to change its policy, they were trying to clarify.

"Because of the lack of clarity and confusion that resulted, we wanted to be very, very clear with users about how important their trust is to us and roll back to the old version of the terms of service which we did last night."

Will you continue to use the service?

Written by BET.com Staff

COMMENTS

Latest in news