Leaders Rally for Voting Rights for Today

of 135Photo
  • Steny Hoyer
  • Nancy Pelosi
  • Sherrilyn Ifill
  • Lorraine Miller
  • Earl Cunningham
  • Steve Cohen
  • Francys Johnson
  • James Clyburn
  • Bobby Scott
  • Janaye Ingram
  • Nicole Austin-Hillery
  • Wade Henderson
  • Voting Rights Amendment Act Rally

Sherrilyn Ifill

"You have the power," extolled Sherrilyn Ifill, NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund president. "You have to make this happen." Ifill noted that a voting rights bill has passed four times before with bipartisan support and been signed by four Republican presidents. "You can do this. But you have to keep your mind focused on it. You can't let Duck Dynasty and Donald Sterling and everybody else distract you from what we are trying to accomplish because the right to vote is preservative of all rights. All the rest of it is affected by the right to vote."

(Photo: Joyce Jones/BET)

More Photo Galleries

Watch on BET.com
Powered By ZergNet