Notorious Dez Bryant Catch Makes NFL Rewrite Rules

Notorious Dez Bryant Catch Makes NFL Rewrite Rules

League tries to bring clarity to catching while hitting the ground.

Published July 24, 2015

In the NFC divisional playoff game between the Green Bay Packers and Dallas Cowboys this past January, Dez Bryant made an incredible falling catch that could have sent the Cowboys to the NFC championship.

Instead, it was ruled incomplete, as Bryant was deemed to have not made what the NFL refers to as a "football move."

It's a bit confusing and that's precisely why the NFL has gone back and gotten rid of the "football move" language, rewriting the rule to add a little clarity.

Mike Pereira, Fox Sports analyst and former NFL vice president of officiating, took to his Twitter account on Thursday to explain how the league will call such falling-to-the-ground catches in the future.

Even the rewritten rule is complicated, but it does bring a bit of clarity.

With it, the league shouldn't be hit with a cloud of controversy the way it was with Bryant's catch last postseason. 

BET Sports News — Get the latest news and information about African-Americans in sports, including weekly recaps, celebrity news and photos of your favorite Black athletes.

(Photo: Mike McGinnis/Getty Images)

Written by Mark Lelinwalla

COMMENTS

Latest in news