Usher Leads Nominations at Soul Train Awards

Usher Leads Nominations at Soul Train Awards

Cedric "The Entertainer" returns to host the most soulful night in music.

Published September 18, 2012

Soul Train Awards '12 is honoring music's most soulful artists in a hot ceremony featuring live performances and entertainment. Hosted by the Original King of Comedy and "Soul Man" actor Cedric "The Entertainer," the musical affair will go down at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas, bringing together numerous celebrities, movers and shakers.

Usher leads the pack this year with five Soul Train nominations, while R. Kelly is set to become the most nominated artist in Soul Train Awards history. Whitney Houston and Amy Winehouse received posthumous nominations. Plus, New Edition will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. BET Music Matters talent Elle Varner, J. Cole and Luke James will vie for Best New Artist award.

With Trey Songz hitting the stage and a host of other power performances, Soul Train Awards '12 will continue its tradition of soulfully celebrating music. The show will air on BET and Centric on Sunday, November 25th at 9P/8C.

See the full nominees list below:

Best New Artist
Elle Varner
Emeli Sande
J. Cole
Luke James
Robert Glasper

Centric Award
Esperanza Spalding
Gary Clark Jr.
Leah Labelle

Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance
BeBe Winans-America America
Fred Hammond - I Feel Good
Marvin Sapp - My Testimony
Mary Mary-Go Get It
Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks-Celebrate

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
2 Chainz feat. Drake - No Lie
Wale feat. Miguel - Lotus Flower Bomb
Kanye West feat. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz -Mercy
Young Jeezy feat. Ne-Yo-Leave You Alone

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Keyshia Cole
Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Robin Thicke
Trey Songz

Album of the Year
The One- Eric Benet
Channel Orange-Frank Ocean
Life Is Good-Nas
Write Me Back-R. Kelly
Looking For Myself-Usher

Song of the Year
Estelle-Thank You
John Legend feat. Ludacris-Tonight (Best You Ever Had)
Trey Songz- Heart Attack
Wale feat. Miguel-Lotus Flower Bomb

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter's Award
Thank You-Estelle (Writers: Arden Altino, Akene "The Champ" Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam)
Tonight (Best You Ever Had)-John Legend feat. Ludacris(Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher "Ludacris" Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel "Miguel", Clayton Reilly, John Stephens)
Daughters-Nas(Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka)
Share My Love-R. Kelly (Writer: Robert Kelly)
Climax-Usher(Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean Redd Stylez Fenton, Thomas Diplo Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid)

Best Dance Performance
Beyoncé-Love On Top
Chris Brown-Turn Up The Music
Nicki Minaj-Starships
Rihanna-Where Have You Been
Usher-Scream awards: Best Caribbean Performance
Cover Drive -Bajan Style
Damien "Junior Gong" Marley-SuperHeavy
Jimmy Cliff-Rebirth
Matisyahu -Spark Seeker
Sean Paul -Tomahawk Technique Best International Performance
Amy Winehouse-Our Day Will Come
Daley feat. Marsha Ambrosius Alone Together
Emeli Sande-Next To Me
Estelle-Thank You
Gotye feat. Kimbra-Somebody (That I Used To Know)
Rebecca Ferguson-Nothings Real But Love Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group
Chris Botti-Impressions
Kenny Garrett-Seeds From The Underground
Melody Gardot-The Absence
The Robert Glasper Experiment -Black Radio
Tony Bennett-Isn't It Romantic Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group
Ben Tankard-Full Tank
Brian Culbertson-DREAMS
Cassandra Wilson-Another Country
Esperanza Spalding-Radio Music Society
Peter White-Here We Go is your #1 source for Black celebrity news, photos, exclusive videos and all the latest in the world of hip hop and R&B music.

Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.

 (Photo: Buckner/Getty Images For BET)

Written by Arielle Loren