#PrinceDay: These 15 Prince Albums Are Now Available for Streaming

UNITED STATES - SEPTEMBER 13:  RITZ CLUB  Photo of PRINCE, Prince performing on stage - Purple Rain Tour  (Photo by Ebet Roberts/Redferns)

#PrinceDay: These 15 Prince Albums Are Now Available for Streaming

Enjoy while they're still available.

Published June 7, 2016

It would have been Prince’s 58th birthday today (June 7) and in celebration of what will now be deemed #PrinceDay, Tidal is releasing 15 albums of his in honor of the occasion.

Tidal, who has exclusive streaming rights to the Purple One’s music, dropped a collection of B-sides, live albums and unreleased recordings including The Black Album, The Rainbow Children and New Power Soul.

While alive, Prince was an advocate of Jay Z’s music streaming service and in 2015, removed himself from all music subscription sites except for Hov’s enterprise. He also made the albums HITNRUN and HITNRUN Phase Two available through Tidal.

"After one meeting, it was obvious that Jay Z and the team he has assembled at TIDAL recognize and applaud the effort that real musicians put in2 their craft 2 achieve the very best they can at this pivotal time in the music industry," Prince said in a statement at the time. "TIDAL have honored Us with a non-restrictive arrangement that once again allows Us to continue making art in the fashion We've grown accustomed 2 and We're Extremely grateful 4 their generous support."

Prince passed away on April 21 at his Paisley Park estate in Chanhassen, Minnesota. He was hospitalized on April 15 after his private plane made an emergency landing in Illinois. He had reportedly been fighting the flu, however newer reports have confirmed that he died from a accidental opioid overdose.

Check out the new Prince albums now available on Tidal below.

The Black Album (1987)
The Gold Experience (1995)
Chaos & Disorder (1996)
Crystal Ball (1998)
1999: The New Master (1999)
Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic (1999)
Rave In2 The Joy Fantastic (2001)
The Rainbow Children (2001)
One Nite Alone...Live! (2002)
One Nite Alone...The Aftershow: It Ain't Over (2002)
Indigo Nights (2008)
The New Power Generation Exodus (1995)
New Power Soul (1998)
1-800-NEW-FUNK (1994)
Girl 6 - Official (1996)

Written by Paul Meara

(Photo: Ebet Roberts/Redferns)


Latest in music