Casts of “The Cosby Show” and "Kotter” Reunite for Award Show

Casts of “The Cosby Show” and "Kotter” Reunite for Award Show

Published March 3, 2011

Looking for blasts from the past—old-school television style? The 2011 TV Land Awards will honor The Cosby Show and Welcome Back, Kotter as well as reunite the casts of both shows.

The Cosby Show will receive the Impact Award at this year's show. The honor is presented to a show that offered both entertainment and enlightenment, with comedy that reflected reality. Bill Cosby, Phylicia Rashad, Malcolm-Jamal Warner, Sabrina Le Beauf, Tempestt Bledsoe, Keshia Knight Pulliam, Raven-Symoné and Lisa Bonet will all be in attendance to receive the award.

Welcome Back, Kotter will receive the 35th Anniversary Award. Starring comic Gabe Kaplan, the hit ‘70s show focused on Gabe Kotter, who returns to his Brooklyn high school to teach remedial social studies to the underachieving Sweathogs. John Travolta, who played top Sweathog Vinnie Barbarino (“What?…Where?”) will reunite with his fellow cast members to accept the honor. So far, Lawrence Hilton-Jacobs (Freddie “Boom Boom” Washington), Ron Palillo (Arnold Horshack) and Marcia Strassman (Mr. Kotter’s wife, Julie) are confirmed to attend. Other names will be announced.

TV Land Awards tape April 10 and air April 17.

Image: dpa / Landov

Written by Marcus Reeves


Latest in news

Inauguration Day

January 20, 2021