CodeBlack Films Acquires Rights to Flyy Girl Novels

Flyy Girl

CodeBlack Films Acquires Rights to Flyy Girl Novels

Let Me Explain distributor to turn '90s trilogy into films.

Published July 18, 2013

CodeBlack Films, the upstart distributor which has found major success releasing Kevin Hart's concert films Laugh at My Pain and Let Me Explain, has made its first major development acquisition with the Flyy Girl trilogy. 

The popular novels written by Omar Tyree are coming-of-age stories that explore the journey of a young woman who plunges herself into a fast-paced world of gratuitous sex, violence and heartbreak in an attempt to find herself during the modern hip hop era. The second book in the series, For the Love of Money, won an NAACP Image Award (2001, Outstanding Book, Fiction).

The books have been read by over eight million people worldwide and were hugely popular in urban communities in the 1990s. 

CodeBlack Films has several films in the pipeline after the recent box-office success of Let Me Explain. They will distribute Forest Whitaker's Repentence, romantic drama Things Never Said and Jennifer Hudson's The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete. is your #1 source for Black celebrity news, photos, exclusive videos and all the latest in the world of hip hop and R&B music. 

(Photo: Simon & Schuster Publishing)

Written by Evelyn Diaz


Latest in news