Lil Wayne, Kanye Nominated for Sucker Free Awards

Lil Wayne, Kanye Nominated for Sucker Free Awards

MTV’s latest award show will honor hip hop.

Published November 2, 2011

MTV is adding another awards show to its stable. The first Sucker Free Awards — named for the MTV2 hip hop show — will air on MTV2 on December 4 at 11pm ET. The awards will look back at the year’s best in hip hop and honor the standouts who made it hot. Fans can vote on three of the seven categories: Best Crew of 2011, Rookie of the Year and Must-Follow Person of 2011.

Here are the nominees:
Must-Follow Person of 2011
50 Cent
Chris Brown
Lil Duval
Tyler the Creator

Rookie of the Year
Big Sean
J. Cole
Tyler the Creator
Wiz Khalifa

Best Crew of 2011
Cash Money
Odd Future
Maybach Music Group
Roc Nation
Slaughterhouse/Shade 2.0
Taylor Gang

Artist That Ran 2011
Jay-Z and Kanye West
Lil Wayne
Rick Ross
Nicki Minaj
Chris Brown

Best Album of the Year

Jay-Z and Kanye West, Watch the Throne
Lil Wayne, Tha Carter IV
Lupe Fiasco, Lasers
MMG, Made, Vol. 1
Big Sean, Finally Famous

Song of the Year
DJ Khaled (feat. Drake, Rick Ross and Lil Wayne), “I’m On One”
Meek Mill, “Ima Boss”
Jay-Z and Kanye West, “N---as in Paris”
Drake, “Headlines”
Y.C. (feat. Future), “Racks”

Who’s Got Next

Meek Mill
Kendrick Lamar
Mac Miller
Big K.R.I.T.
ASAP Rocky

Vote for your favorites in the first three categories here.

(Photo: Kevin Winter/GettyImages)

Written by Kenrya Rankin


Latest in news

Inauguration Day

January 20, 2021