A Preview of Big Sean's New Album

Big Sean

A Preview of Big Sean's New Album

The rapper holds an exclusive European listening event for his sophomore album.

Published March 13, 2013

Rapper Big Sean took a break from his European tour to hold a private listening session for his sophomore effort, Hall of Fame: Memoirs of a Detroit Player. BBC Radio 1Xtra’s DJ Semtex called the material “classic.”

"Hall of Fame has that College Dropout feel," Semtex blogged. "It is a body of work which feels like Sean has fully thrown his soul into.... Lyrically, he was always a problem, on the Detroit mixtape he evolved, on Hall of Fame he arrives.... It feels like this is going to be Sean's year."

Before revealing a track listing of the 12 he heard (including features from Common; Lil Wayne; Juicy J; Nas and Kid Cudi; and, of course, G.O.O.D. boss, Kanye West), Semtex made note that the BET Hip Hop Award-winning artist “is still adding the final touches to the album.”

Co-signing, Sean tweeted: “Man that track list floating around is not the full track list.... Ba-lee dat. Close but not all the way.”

Perhaps there’s still a chance that his hopes for a feature from fellow Detroit player Eminem could come to fruition. Whatever the final product, the work already has been on multiple “Most Anticipated Albums of 2013” lists.

Peep the tentative track list:

1. "Fire"
2. "Word Is a Blaze"
3. "Switcher" (Feat. Common)
4. Untitled (Feat. Lil’ Wayne)
5. "F**k My Money Up" (Feat. SAYITAINTTONE)
6. "Milf" (Feat. Juicy J)
7. "Nothing Is Stopping You"
8. "First Chain" (Feat. Nas and Kid Cudi)
9. "Sierra Leone"
10. "Ashley"
11. Untitled (Feat. Kanye West)
12. "All Figured Out"

Get ready for the BET Experience, featuring Beyoncé, Snoop Dogg, R. Kelly, Erykah Badu, Kendrick Lamar and many more. Go here for more details and info on how to buy tickets.

BET.com is your #1 source for Black celebrity news, photos, exclusive videos and all the latest in the world of hip hop and R&B music.

Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.                   

(Photo: Christie Goodwin/Redferns)

Written by Sia Barnes


Latest in news