Tamar Braxton, Jennifer Hudson Among 2013 Soul Train Awards Performers

Tamar Braxton, Jennifer Hudson

Tamar Braxton, Jennifer Hudson Among 2013 Soul Train Awards Performers

Smokey Robinson, K. Michelle, Wale and more to hit the stage.

Published October 10, 2013

Las Vegas will have an extra shot of star power when the 2013 Soul Train Awards hit the Orleans Arena next month. Tamar Braxton, Jennifer Hudson, K. Michelle, Smokey Robinson Ron Isley, Chrisette Michele, Bobby Caldwell, Wale, Eric Benet, Candice Glover, Kem and Joss Stone are just some of the names hitting the show stage.

This year's motto is "We Got Soul" and the ceremony promises to keep the energy flow high. Funny man Anthony Anderson will host backed by Grammy Award-winning producers 1500 or Nothin', who will music direct the show alongside legendary keyboardist Greg Phillinganes. 

2013 marks a year of new moves for the awards, which will touch down at Orleans Arena for the first time, and add an additional stage featuring a rotation of celebrity DJs. "We are gearing up for a big show this year and the performers set to take the stage is just the beginning of what's to come," said Paxton Baker, Centric's General Manager and Executive Vice President, adding that the network is committed to "providing quality programming for soul music lovers." 

"We're forever grateful for the involvement of so many amazing performers ... Music is the core of Centric's DNA."

Compton rap star Kendrick Lamar leads with six nominations including Best New Artist, Album of the Year and Song of the Year. Tied at five nods each are Miguel, Justin Timberlake, Robin Thicke, Chris Brown, Braxton and Janelle Monáe

The 2013 Soul Train Awards tape in Las Vegas Nov. 8. See who wins big when the show airs Dec. 1 at 9 p.m. ET/PT on Centric and BET.   

BET.com is your #1 source for Black celebrity news, photos, exclusive videos and all the latest in the world of hip hop and R&B music.

Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.

(Photos from left: D Dipasupil/Getty Images for BET, Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

Written by Latifah Muhammad


Latest in news

Inauguration Day

January 20, 2021