Jay Z's Original Reasonable Doubt Tracklist Revealed

Reasonable Doubt

Jay Z's Original Reasonable Doubt Tracklist Revealed

Hov's debut album had three extra songs.

Published January 17, 2014

(Photo: Roc-A-Fella Records)

Albums tend to go through various revisions before an official release, so it should come as no surprise that Jay Z's Reasonable Doubt debut was no exception. 

Now, 17 years after Hov's critically-acclaimed release hit the streets, the album's art director Adrian Vargas has revealed the original tracklist, posted online by 2DopeBoyz.com. The project, hailed as the "definitive" work of Jay's entire catalog, originally included three additional tracks ("The Hurt," "Tell Me" and "Hot") and a different song order than the final product. 

The remix to "Dead Presidents" would have been a bonus track while the original "Dead Presidents" was supposed to open the album, followed by "Feelin' It," "Ain't No N---a" and "Politics as Usual." In the end, "Can't Knock the Hustle" became track  No. 1, bumping "Dead Presidents" down to No. 4.

So what happened to the three cuts that got axed?

The songs have never been released (unless the names were changed) and will probably never be heard if Jay has anything to do with it. Hovito is very protective over his first album, so much so that he offered former business partners Damon Dash and Kareem "Biggs" Burke rights to the Roc-A-Fella Records name in exchange for the masters to Reasonable DoubtThey refused the deal.

BET.com is your #1 source for Black celebrity news, photos, exclusive videos and all the latest in the world of hip hop and R&B music.

Click here to subscribe to our newsletter. 

Written by Latifah Muhammad


Latest in news