G-Unit Drops Six Song EP The Beauty of Independence

G-Unit, The Beauty of Independence

G-Unit Drops Six Song EP The Beauty of Independence

Fif opens up about his split from Dr. Dre and Jimmy lovine.

Published August 25, 2014

50 Cent and G-Unit may be used to setting trends, but the crew took a page out of Beyoncé’s page, dropping a six-track EP without notice.

The Unit, who reunited in June, released The Beauty of Independence on iTunes just before midnight on Sunday (Aug. 24). It's the group's first project since they disbanded after the release of Terminate on Sight in 2008.

According to head-honcho Fif, the crew has matured since then and his conclusion seems to be confirmed on the track "Changes," on which Fif opens up about his departure from Dr. Dre and Jimmy Iovine

Tony Yayo also showcased his development. 50 Cent told Billboard that Yayo wrote two hooks on the album, a task typically reserved for Fif.

The new EP comes after Guerilla kept fans at bay with a slew of remixes, including Drake's "0-100," and Chris Brown's "Loyal." The camp plans to release their first full-length album in more than five years in November.

BET.com is your #1 source for Black celebrity news, photos, exclusive videos and all the latest in the world of hip hop and R&B music.

Click here to subscribe to our newsletter. 

(Photo: G-Unit Records)

Written by Dominique Zonyeé


Latest in news