This Miles Davis Tribute Album Will Be Soundtracking Your Summer

American Jazz musician and composer Robert Glasper plays piano as he performs with his trio during a concert in 'The Shape of Jazz' series at Carnegie Hall's Zankel Hall, New York, New York, December 5, 2015. (Photo: Jack Vartoogian/Getty Images)

This Miles Davis Tribute Album Will Be Soundtracking Your Summer

Robert Glasper has recruited Stevie Wonder and Erykah Badu to help with this project.

Published March 9, 2016

Grammy Award-winning jazz pianist and producer Robert Glasper has long made it known that he’s a Miles Davis fan.

Glasper has recently assisted with the forthcoming Miles Davis biopic, titled Miles Ahead, by composing the entire score himself. The film will be released on April 1, 2016.

Today (March 9), Glasper has taken his interest in Davis’s music even further, announcing that he is working on a tribute album, recruiting the likes of Stevie Wonder, Erykah Badu, Illa J, Bilal and more.

The album is slated for a May 27 release via Sony Music. 

Everything’s Beautiful Track List: 

1. “Talking S**t”
2. “Ghetto Walkin” featuring Bilal
3. “They Can’t Hold Me Down” featuring Illa J
4. “Maiysha (So Long)” featuring Erykah Badu
5. “Violets” featuring Phonte
6. “Little Church” featuring Hiatus Kaiyote
7. “Silence Is the Way” featuring Laura Mvula
8. “Song for Selim” featuring KING
9. “Milestones” featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow
10. “I’m Leaving You” featuring John Scofield and Ledisi
11. “Right On Brotha” featuring Stevie Wonder is your No. 1 source for Black celebrity news, photos, exclusive videos and all the latest in the world of hip hop and R&B music.

(Photo: Jack Vartoogian/Getty Images)

Written by KC Orcutt


Latest in music