Phillies Earn Second Consecutive Trip to World Series

Phillies Earn Second Consecutive Trip to World Series

Published October 22, 2009

The newly crowned Major League champs from the City of Brotherly Love were anything but brotherly Wednesday as they pummeled their West Coast guests into submission, storming their way into a second consecutive World Series.

And in the process, the Philadelphia Phillies proved that last year’s world championship was absolutely no fluke, flattening the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-4 in a dominant display of power.

Leading the way for the Phillies was Jayson Werth, who blasted two homers, Shane Victorino and Pedro Feliz, who connected on solo shots and closer Brad Lidge, who once again proved that regular-season jitters don’t necessarily have anything to do with the postseason. Although first-base slugger Ryan Howard’s record-setting, eight-game playoff RBI streak came to an end Wednesday, he still walked away with the National League Championship Series MVP award.

The Phillies win marked the first time a team won consecutive pennants since the Atlanta Braves did it 13 years ago.  ''Big games call for big times,'' Werth told The Associated Press. ''Hopefully, we can keep it going. We've got four more games to win.''

When the Phillies face the winner of the New York Yankees-California Athletics American League Championship Series, it will be Philadelphia's seventh trip to the World Series in 127 years. The Phils defeated the Kansas City Royals in 1980, having lost in 1915, 1950, 1983 and 1993. The Yankees swept Philadelphia in '50, winning the first three games of that series by one run.

Written by Staff


Latest in news