Shaq, Allen Iverson Lead 2016 Hall of Fame Class

Shaquille O'Neal, Allen Iverson

Shaq, Allen Iverson Lead 2016 Hall of Fame Class

NBA legends to get their just due this September.

Published April 4, 2016

One is arguably the most dominant big man in NBA history. The other is arguably the best little man the league has ever seen.

Now, Shaquille O'Neal and Allen Iverson are headed to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. On Monday, the hoop legends were announced to lead the 10-member Class of 2016, which will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame on September 9. 

Well deserved and about time. 

O'Neal won four NBA titles, three Finals MVPs, one league MVP and had 15 All-Star Game selections over the course of his 19-year career. Meanwhile, the 6-foot point guard, Iverson, won the league's MVP in 2001 to go along with his four scoring titles and 11 All-Star Game selections, and was known for his relentless attack and ability to take hits and keep on ticking.

Intertwining the legends even further is the fact that Shaq's Los Angeles Lakers powered past A.I.'s Philadelphia 76ers back in the 2001 NBA Finals.

Iverson and O'Neal will be inducted into the Hall of Fame alongside the likes of former Houston Rockets center Yao Ming, ex-WNBA star Sheryl Swoopes, Michigan State coach Tom Izzo and Chicago Bulls owner Jerry Reinsdorf.

Salute to "The Diesel" and "The Answer," though. Two of the greatest to ever do it.

BET Sports News — Get the latest news and information about African-Americans in sports, including weekly recaps, celebrity news and photos of your favorite Black athletes.

(Photo: Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

Written by Mark Lelinwalla


Latest in news