R&B Group

Guy, the R&B trio of the 1980s, helped usher in the New Jack Swing sound. The band’s original members included producer Teddy Riley, Timmy Gatling and lead vocalist Aaron Hall (Aaron’s brother Damion would later replace Gatling). They released their self-titled debut in 1988 on Andre Harrell’s Uptown Records. Their New Jack Swing style was a smash, yielding hit songs “Groove Me,” “Piece of My Love” and “I Like.” The band split up in ’91 after promoting their second album, The Future. In 1999, the band reunited to release Guy III.