This Day in Black History: Jan. 12, 1971

The Congressional Black Caucus was organized.

Posted: 01/09/2013 01:43 PM EST

The Congressional Black Caucus was formed on Jan. 12, 1971 to represent the Black members of the United States Congress and to support programs and services that positively influence the African-American community.

Its founding members included Shirley Chisholm, William L. Clay, George W. Collins, John Conyers, Ronald Dellums, Charles Diggs, Augustus F. Hawkins, Ralph Metcalfe, Parren Mitchell, Robert Nix, Charles B. Rangel, Louis Stokes and Walter Fauntroy.

The CBC's goals have been to close the education gap, make sure that all Americans have access to quality health care despite race or socioeconomic status, employment opportunities, and welfare funds among others. There are currently 42 members.

BET Politics - Your source for the latest news, photos and videos illuminating key issues and personalities in African-American political life, plus commentary from some of our liveliest voices.  Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.

Videos You May Like