2023 NAACP Image Awards:‘Abbott Elementary’ Wins 'Outstanding Comedy Series'

Quinta Brunson spoke about making a series “accessible to everyone, but for, and by us.”

ABC’s critically acclaimed show Abbott Elementary is currently one of the biggest shows on television and the 2023 NAACP Image Awards recipient of the “Outstanding Comedy  Series” award. Show creator and star Quinta Brunson accepted the award by welcoming her castmates, Tyler James Williams, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Janelle James, Lisa Ann Walter, and William Standford Davis, on stage.

RELATED: 2023 NAACP Image Awards: Jennifer Hudson, Trevor Noah, Viola Davis Declare Victory

“We are a brand-new show. Watching all the other shows out there, shows that have paved the way for us, shows that have helped push us through the doors at  ABC like Black-ish …“ Brunson said during her acceptance speech before going on to congratulate her fellow nominee on their eighth and final season.

“We are so grateful,” the rising star continued. “We were blessed to have a wonderful experience this award season, but it’s nothing like w an NAACP [Image] award. We’re happy that we’re able to make this show that is accessible to everyone but for and by us.” Atlanta, Black-ish, Rap Sh!t, and The Wonder Years were also nominated.

The “Outstanding Comedy Series” category was presented by The Best Man: The Final Chapter cast, Taye Diggs, Morris Chestnut, Harold Perrineau, and Terrence Howard. Actress, producer, and entrepreneur Queen Latifah hosted tonight’s celebrations.,

Latest News

Subscribe for BET Updates

Provide your email address to receive our newsletter.

By clicking Subscribe, you confirm that you have read and agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. You also agree to receive marketing communications, updates, special offers (including partner offers) and other information from BET and the Paramount family of companies. You understand that you can unsubscribe at any time.