Hip-Hop Legends Common and Pete Rock Announce Debut Collaborative Album

Set to release on July 12 via Loma Vista Recordings, 'The Auditorium, Vol. 1' merges the talents of Common, one of hip hop's most evocative emcees, and legendary producer Pete Rock.

Hip-hop legends Common and Pete Rock announced their highly anticipated first full-length collaboration, The Auditorium, Vol. 1, set to release on July 12.

On the heels of hip-hop celebrating its 50th anniversary, this project represents a fusion of talents: Common, one of hip-hop's most evocative emcees, and Pete Rock, one of its most heralded producers.

Common debuted in the early 90s with "Can I Borrow a Dollar?" but gained significant acclaim with his 1994 album "Resurrection," featuring the timeless track "I Used to Love H.E.R." Known for his thoughtful lyrics and smooth delivery, Common has earned multiple Grammy Awards and has made a mark in both music and acting, with notable roles in films like "Selma" and "John Wick: Chapter 2."

Black Music Month: Celebrating Black Alternative Artists Defying Boundaries, From Past to Present

Legendary DJ, producer, and rapper Pete Rock first rose to prominence in the early 90s as part of the duo Pete Rock & CL Smooth. Their classic album "Mecca and the Soul Brother" includes the iconic track "They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)." Pete Rock is celebrated for his innovative use of jazz samples and his distinct, soulful production style, which has influenced countless artists in the hip-hop genre.

The Auditorium, Vol. 1 is expected to be a milestone in hip-hop. It blends Common's profound lyrical prowess with Pete Rock's masterful production.

The tracklist is as follows:

1. Dreamin'

2. Chi-Town Do It

3. This Man's Arms

4. We're On Our Way

5. Fortunate

6. So Many People (ft. Bilal)

7. Wise Up

8. A GOD (There Is) (ft. Jennifer Hudson)

9. Stellar

10. Lonesome

11. All Kind Of Ideas (ft. Pete Rock)

12. When The Sun Shines Again (ft. Posdnuos of De La Soul)

13. Everything's So Grand (ft. PJ)

14. Now and Then 

15. Outro 

 Pre-save the album here.

Latest News

Subscribe for BET Updates

Provide your email address to receive our newsletter.

By clicking Subscribe, you confirm that you have read and agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. You also agree to receive marketing communications, updates, special offers (including partner offers) and other information from BET and the Paramount family of companies. You understand that you can unsubscribe at any time.