2024 NAACP Image Awards: 'The Color Purple' Clinches Outstanding Motion Picture Award

The adaptation, directed by Blitz Bazawule, put a new spin on a timeless classic.

"The Color Purple" by Alice Walker, both as a novel and a 1985 film directed by Steven Spielberg, holds a special place in many Black families and beyond as a beloved classic. The story has also graced Broadway stages, earning numerous Tony nominations and wins. And last year, Blitz Bazawule presented a fresh take on "The Color Purple," featuring an impressive cast including Fantasia Barrino, Taraji P. Henson, Danielle Brooks, Corey Hawkins, Colman Domingo, Phylicia Pearl Mpasi, Halle Bailey, and Ciara.

On Saturday, March 16, the movie won Outstanding Motion Picture at the 55th NAACP Image Awards, adding another accolade to the original film's historical impact.

The female leads from the film accepted the award.

"We thank you to the NAACP for seeing us. To all of the fans that voted for us. We want to thank the cast and the crew. We want to thank those that came before us," Brooks said. "This story truly is our cinematic heirloom. We pray that this story continues to heal families and trauma."

The Ladies of "The Color Purple’" (L-R) Taraji P. Henson, Danielle Brooks, and Fantasia Barrino Taylor.

The Ladies Of ‘The Color Purple’ Take Over Hollywood For a Day of Black Excellence

In this new version, Barrino reprises her Broadway role as older Celie, with Bazawule bringing Celie's vivid world to life through song. This bold interpretation distinguishes Bazawule's adaptation from its predecessors, showcasing a new vision of the beloved tale.

Latest News

Subscribe for BET Updates

Provide your email address to receive our newsletter.

By clicking Subscribe, you confirm that you have read and agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. You also agree to receive marketing communications, updates, special offers (including partner offers) and other information from BET and the Paramount family of companies. You understand that you can unsubscribe at any time.