Mos Def Announces His Final Album 'December 99th'

Before hanging up the mic, he'll drop one more project.

Mos Def, also known as Yasiin Bey, has spent the  majority of 2016 being held by Cape Town officials for breaking the city's immigration laws by way of using a "world passport," something that South Africa does not recognize. 

Last week, it was reported that the beloved Brooklyn rapper was finally granted his freedom after penning a genuine apology to city officials. All charges have been dropped, and in celebration of his ability to return home, he has come forward to announce the details regarding what will be his final album.

Earlier this year, Bey announced his retirement from music, but generously decided he has one more project left in him. Not only that, but it'll be available next week on December 9, playing off of the title December 99th.

The project features sole production by Ferrari Shepard and was recorded while the veteran emcee awaited being granted the opportunity to leave South Africa.

In addition to announcing that his final studio album will be released later next week, he also shared the official track list.

Take a look at what songs made the cut below:

1. "N.A.W."
2. "Blade in the Pocket"
3. "SPESH"
4. "Local Time"
5. "Tall Sleeves"
6. "Seaside Panic Room"
7. "Shadow in the Dark"
8. "It Goes"
9. "Special Dedication"

Latest News

Subscribe for BET Updates

Provide your email address to receive our newsletter.

By clicking Subscribe, you confirm that you have read and agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. You also agree to receive marketing communications, updates, special offers (including partner offers) and other information from BET and the Paramount family of companies. You understand that you can unsubscribe at any time.