Ranking The Hip Hop Album Of The Year Nominees

'Call Me If You Get Lost' was this year's winner.

Tyler, the Creator's Call Me If You Get Lost was named this year’s "Hip Hop Album Of The Year" at the 2021 BET Hip Hop Awards.

RELATED: BET Hip Hop Awards 2020: Album Of The Year

Other nominees included Megan Thee Stallion's Good News, Tyler, A Gangsta’s Pain by MoneyBagg Yo, The MigosCulture IIIKhaled Khaled by DJ Khaled, 21 Savage and Metro Boomin’s Savage Mode II and J.Cole’s The Off-Season

RELATED: 2021 BET Hip Hop Awards: BET Announces This Year's Nominees

With the 2021 BET Hip Hop Awards are in the books and winners out, here’s a look at who Tyler beat, as they’re also deserving of a second look. 

  1. A Gangsta’s Pain - MoneyBagg Yo

    The Memphis product’s latest and fourth studio album, A Gangsta’s Pain, which dropped on April 23 of this year, was a monster hit in every regard, debuting at number one, certifying gold, and the smash hit "Wockesha,” giving him his first career No. 1 on Billboard’s R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay chart. The “Time Today” rapper may didn’t win it this year, but it doesn’t take away from the success he’s had this year. 


  2. Culture III — Migos

    From their debut studio album, Yung Rich Nation in 2015, to their “Culture” series —  Culture (2017) Culture II (2018) Culture III (2021) — The Migos have been more than consistent in putting out quality bodies of work. 

    Their latest elicited positive feedback, too, proving they are still a force to be reckoned with. 

  3. Good News— Megan Thee Stallion

    Megan, who had nine nominations this year, undoubtedly had a case for also winning album of the year. 

    The Houston rapper released both Good News and Suga last year, bringing hits “Body” and “Savage Remix” that are still carrying in the club today.   

  4. Khaled Khaled — DJ Khaled

    Dj Khaled’s brilliantly crafted Khaled Khaled, if anything, proves that, yet again, the Miami Dade legend is in a rare class when it comes to curating music. 

    Peep how the 13-time Hip Hop Award winner, put together vocals of Lil Durk and Lil Baby on “Every Chance I Get,” which is arguably the club anthem of their year. 

    While he didn’t take the honor home this year, he undoubtedly had one the year’s best. 

  5. Savage Mode II — Savage X Metro Boomin

    21 Savage and  Metro Boomin’s Savage Mode II was quietly one of the year’s best project’s, honorably making this year’s cut for the best of the best, based on singles like his Drake-assisted “Mr. Right Now,”  “Snitches and Rats,” not to mention having Morgan Freeman narrate the entire thing. 

  6. The Off-Season — J.Cole

    J. Cole's sixth studio album, The Off-Season, made his sixth consecutive no. 1 album and ranks in the top 10, along with Pop Smoke, Lil Baby, Doja Cat, Moneybagg Yo, Juice Wrld, Lil Durk and Rod Wave, according to a chart from Hits Daily Double

    Now on tour with 21 Savage and Morray, who can forget his memorable back and forth with Lil baby on “”.

Subscribe for BET Updates

Provide your email address to receive our newsletter.

By clicking Subscribe, you confirm that you have read and agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge our Privacy Policy. You also agree to receive marketing communications, updates, special offers (including partner offers) and other information from BET and the Paramount family of companies. You understand that you can unsubscribe at any time.